Final Storytelling Portfolio

Over the past few months I have been exploring the idea of how and why is it important to tell stories. This question has been thought provoking and has led to many different ideas on why we tell stories. We have been telling stories for generations, most stories have been told orally and have helped set up the culture and beliefs of our society. Stories in ancient days were used to pass on information and knowledge to the next generation and without stories, we might not have progressed to where we are today. The first digital stories we see are the use of radios in the 1920s and 1930’s. Radio stations would prepare plays and radio shows that would be performed on air to the anticipation of millions. Eventually, these shows morphed to being played as movies in theaters and eventually as television shows. Today, we are fortunate enough to have access to digital stories with a variety a media, from podcasts and videos to slideshows and video games. All of these have allowed us to tell our stories with others and to continue to pass on information and knowledge to the next generation.

What makes a good story? When it comes down to it there are certain requirements for a “good story” a good story should have a clear beginning, middle and end, with some sort of plot, setting and characters. Most of us were taught these elements in school, and these provide the foundation for any story. When it comes to making a “good story” what is necessary? A good story should include conflict, emotions and should have a call to action. These three elements connect with your audience and makes them more engaged with the story you have to tell. These essentials can make up any type of story that you are trying to tell.

I know personally it has been very difficult for me to become a good storyteller. When I think of the great storytellers in my life the first people that come to mind are these 2 college professors I had while pursuing my bachelors degree in history. Both classes were lecture based, but when these women spoke, it was like you were transported to the time period they were talking about. They painted a beautiful story rich with detail, humor and emotion. This allowed these historical figures to come to life. These were some of the most entertaining classes I have ever taken, and it really made me fall in love with history. My goal when I became a teacher was to lecture and tell stories as great as these professors did. I feel like I have gotten better as time has past, and I have discovered that I really enjoy making digital stories, this act really combines the things I love, technology and storytelling.

Please click through the infographic below to discover how and why it is important to tell stories.

https://magic.piktochart.com/embed/18967734-digital-storytelling-portfolio

Leave a comment